So let’s recap; the best Chinese food is in the Middle East, Napoli pizza took my breath away, and street food is good everywhere (unless some bastard under cooks a meatball and you end up in the hospital after a horrible few days). I’ve covered Italian, Middle Eastern, and Chinese cuisine. But there is more…

I am one who adheres to the belief that food aids in the definition of culture. I believe that our very identities are wrapped up in food, everywhere. My earliest encounter with this was in the Costa Rica during a trip my Junior Year in high school. Of all the memories I gathered in that trip, the red beans and _______________ (add your accompanying dish here) was something which defines that trip for me. Even when I have not eaten the dish in 20 years. It is something that I can visualize and when I do the overpowering memory of taste takes me to that trip with fondness which outstrips my memory of any high school event ever.

Where am I going with this? Well, last post I wrote about street food and I am about to again. Most of us eat bread. And when we think of good bread we think of loaves or artisan breads which we’ve found that accompany a meal particularly well, sometimes we dwell upon the breads from a bakery which have been developed and perfected over a millennia of experimentation and crafting. I personally hold a great affinity for French Bakeries because, well what food person doesn’t really? Baguettes and other delicious creations come from there and go with everything from pasta to mixtures of oil and vinegar. But one of my favorite breads ever came from a place where I expected pasta to reign supreme.

In the city of La Spezia, Italy I found a bread which just thinking about makes my mouth salivate to the point of having to stop writing and drink something. I had roamed about the streets for the better part of a day with a friend. We didn’t find the layout to be anything near what Naples offered, but it was charming and we found interesting things here and there. But when we stopped in a small shop for a snack I discovered what I call Italian flatbread.

This bread was similar to that which use for panini’s, it looked like a flat Ciabatta with holes in it for some reason. When I tasted my purchase the buttery smoothness overwhelmed my taste buds and good sense. Over the duration of my visit there every meal involved that bread. I sought it out for snacks, and today I remember it fondly. I have tasted other delightful breads, but the memory of that one always brings a smile to my face. It makes me look into small shops to see what is there, that experience is what drove me to try things like Shwarma and other street culinary delights. That bread would be worth the difficulties of immigration…come to think of it, if anyone knows of a job in Italy I can get I’d head there in a heart beat!

2 thoughts on “A Memory of Taste part 4

  1. Sooooo… you really have a food thing going…. but you make me wish I had eaten those things. All except for the meatball. LOL. Mom

    Like

    1. Yeah, remember my short time in the hospital when I got to Beijing…that was the meatball. I’ve just been writing about my experiences. We are getting ready to hit up some temples, so more fun travel type posts soon.

      Like

Leave a Reply

