A Memory of Taste

Why do you travel? This is a question I get a lot. Whether it is designed to dig into my thought processes, or to fill the awkwardness some people feel during silences during social situations, it comes when people learn I have traveled and intend to continue to travel as I am able. For most we travel for different reasons, for me the reason is simple. Food. Experiencing places through food is a way to know people, don’t believe me? When you were growing up which friend’s house did you like the best? The one that had either good food or the best snacks (or the easily accessible booze…). I had a lot of friends who were fun to spend time with, but my favorite places were where the family would feed me good food. And if I was fed bad food, well…I didn’t spend to much time there.

So I travel to eat, and this has led me to partake in some interesting dishes. From street food to 5 star restaurants I have eaten a lot of different foods (man I am talking about eating a lot right now). My favorites are so different from each other that I demand that I keep looking to find new taste experiences, that way I can experience not only a country but one of the most important facets of its culture around a dinner table.

In Europe, my favorite foods thus far have come from Italy. I have ranged from England to Spain and down into Croatia…but Italy has captivated my taste buds thus far. The first of two places is in Naples, I don’t remember its name…hell it might not even exist anymore as I was there in 2000. All I remember is we walked up the dock, past the citadel and into the small streets of the city. Somewhere back in there we happened upon a restaurant that boasted a brick oven to bake its wares. The clientele ranged from families to obvious couples on dates, menu was simple and we ordered in no time at all. I ordered what I remember to be the diablo pizza and I sat back to wait.

In no time at all the pizza slid in front of me, round slices of pepperoni surrounded by melted mozzarella cheese with pepper flakes cooked into the cheese, sauce, and crust. If you have not experienced Napoli Pizza, then shame on you. It is not like American pizza, each one is intended for an individual, or to share between two. There is not small, medium, or large. They were all one size, and that was enough for me. As I dug into the round dish I noticed the explosion of different flavors; fresh mozzarella, fresh pepperoni, fresh dough, and enough spices to cause me to immediately break out into a sweat.

As I took each bite my mind screamed “ITS TO HOT YOU DUMMY!” But my mouth over rode this with the thought of how delicious this was. My father has said the same about ghost pepper tacos, ghost pepper sauce on his burritos, and other ghost pepper dishes…I still refuse the ghost pepper sauce. Anything that might haunt Mario and the Princess doesn’t deserve to be eaten. This pizza on the other hand made me forget where I was, who I was, and what my purpose was for the short time it was on my plate. It was delicious…a true thing of beauty. To all the people I know who have traveled through Naples, most have experienced the same or a similar restaurant. To those who travel to Naples, search it out, after the Citadel it is one of the small streets on the right hand side…If I could remember the details I would live at the restaurant.

Next time…the Middle East!

Leave a Reply

